Chance Meetings…

Bald Eagle and Coyote, just after a meeting.
Wonder what was discussed between them?
 
IMGP7005 a Eagle and Coyote
 
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Chance Meetings…

  1. john says:

    Territorial rights….all mice here are mine and all rabbits are mine…You go fishing, stay out of my food dish. So says the coyote.

  2. Kuskulana says:

    I like your read John, but what was the eagle\’s point of view?

  3. Horst says:

    The Eagle looks like a juvinile. I bet the Coyote tried to get at the Eagle.

  4. puzzle says:

    I guess, they came to a hunter\’s team-work agreement now: the coyote gets the wind of some animal and makes it run, so one of them both will capture it, also the eagle-eyes spot movements, but if the bird fails some running animal, the coyote is already waiting for.

  5. Jacque says:

    I think the eagle is appearing to be aloof, when in reality he\’s thinking "If I keep looking the other way that coyote won\’t notice me up here, and Man, am I freezing my tail feathers off!"just like a kid! haha

  6. Jacque says:

    Seriously, this is really a very interesting photo on alot of levels.Kudos, Steve!

  7. PEP says:

    Postcard perfect Steve

  8. Fizz says:

    Great photo… Love it!!

  9. john says:

    Eagle says, man I don\’t know how you live here, cann\’t see anything for all the ice and snow. Guess I\’ll fly on an leave ya alone.BTW great pic

  10. Rambling says:

    Oh how frigid and sere looking— in the matter of food the eagle can not easily find..as in fish and other more easily found food during moderate months. Brrrr.

  11. Babblelot says:

    They both appear to be look outs…for Santa?Awesome photo Steve!

  12. Cindy says:

    Eagle would probably really like coyote to go get himself some good eats and then Eagle will clean up the leftovers. Amazing picture.

  13. Patsy says:

    To me they look like they are ignoring each other. Each have their sight on something, so what are they looking at? It doesn\’t matter this is a great shot and as always I enjoy these so much. Stay warm. Hugs, Patsy

  14. Jacque says:

    BTW, that\’s a pretty healthy looking coyote.I don\’t know why but I keeep being drawn back to this photo.I have been looking through the branches to maybe spot any other outdoor creatures "lurking" for a meal.Beautiful snowy shot.

  15. Kimmy says:

    Gosh Steve this is just beautiful to see. Even though it looks reaaally cold! lol Maybe the eagle is waiting for the coyotes leftovers!

  16. Kuskulana says:

    I love the thoughts and interpretation of you all, that is largely why I like to share photos and experiences, to see how others percieve it through the photograph. All I can say is there was some sort of acknowledgement from each of the other, if not some kind of communication. The coyote went all around the tree this imature eagle perched on, all the while the eagle\’s head swivelling like the high tech tracking device it is, it\’s telescoping eyeon the every move of Wiley Coyote, except of course the instant of the photo! The coyote likely would not go after the eagle and vice versa, unless the other were gravely injured. Predators are programmed that way in general. Nevertheless it is the only time I have seen this match up, so although not the best photo lighting, it is unique.

  17. Dianne says:

    Wow! That is on Awesome capture. The eagle is saying to the coyote, " Don\’t look now but there is a funny 2 legged creature with a long funny looking thing, making a clicking sound, and pointed right at us. Pretend he is not there, and if I say run, you go boy!"Love this photo Steve. :)Hugs from Ontario to AlaskaDianne 🙂

  18. Lewis says:

    THe way the coyote stands out in this photo is amazing, and it does look pretty healthy to me, but we are only a sort way into a long winter. Great shot Steve.

  19. Unknown says:

    精彩的文章是我停留的理由~—-幫忙踩個人氣 http://tsung-lin.idv.tw

  20. Kenneth says:

    This coming together of the eagle and coyote symbolises to me, the fact that 4 eyes are better than 2. beak and talon joined by tooth and claw. I would not like to be a rabbit in this locality.very interesting picture Steve.

  21. Kuskulana says:

    Good point Kenny, would hate to be a small prey animal around that pair also.They are there though, just below the snow!

  22. Ellen says:

    This is so cool, Steve! I admire you for tracking up these great motives! Wow……Christmas greetings from Ellen in Norway

  23. Karolyn says:

    do you know the French poet La Fontaine? and his famous fable "The crow and the fox?" This picutre should illustrate the Alaskan version of this fable!

  24. Karolyn says:

    Master Crow perched on a tree,Holding in its beak a cheese.Mr. Fox, by the smell,He stood about this language:"Well hello, Mr. Crow.Whether you are beautiful! that you seem nice!Truly, if your song,Refers to your plumage,You are the Phoenix of these woods. "At these words, the Crow did not feel joy;To show off his beautiful voiceHe opens his beak wide, lets fall his prey.The Fox snapped it up and said: "My dear Sir,Learn that every flattererLives at the expense of the listener.This lesson is well worth a cheese no doubt. "The Crow ashamed and confusedSwore, a bit late, did it take over.

  25. I says:

    This photo is amazing. Only someone like you could ever capture such a photo! I read in your comments that someone said, "postcard perfect" and I have to agree. I think this would make a wonderful post card. Merry Christmas to you and your family, Steve. xo

  26. kïrstin says:

    i love the poem!to me it looks like a race to find the spoils. perhaps the eagle is having a lesson in competative hunting. i rather think eagle would not be the least intimidated by coyote, but he best not inderestimate brother coyote for his wiles are his trump.btw, i think the lighting is perfect. its a severe environment, a severe life. you have that in this moment.k☼

  27. Sarah says:

    REally Steve, a remarkable set of recent photos of wildlife, you are such a joy. I may not make it by often, not in blogland as much as I used to be, but I always get entirely caught up when I come to your place–every entry is worth seeing. You add color and depth to life, and I thank you for your time and caring. Hope your Christmas is good, warm, fun, and funny.

  28. catamaran says:

    Wow very beautiful photo Steve…

  29. Rhonda says:

    OMG this is gorgeous. Look at the ice and snow and the magnicient colos of these two creatures standing out in the snow! Yes, I wonder what they had to talk about too…both being creatures of prey!

Leave a Reply

