OZ

A very fond memory of mine around Christmas time is watching the classic movie, Wizard of Oz,
always with my sister Cyndy, and always with Oreo cookies dipped in milk ( I like to soak them till they almost sink).
I recently had a wonderful day of watching this movie once again (without the cookies or my sister, sigh).
To hear Judy Garland’s amazing voice singing Over The Rainbow, that’s really the best, next to Oreo cookies…
 
Well that movie was in my mind when I put together this photo montage for an upcoming show,
remember the scene when Dorothy and gang reach the chambers of the great Oz?
 
Here is my rendition, I call it simply OZ
 

OZ

An SLC (Superimposed Layered Composite) that puts together a mirage sunset from January 7, 2009,

and a mirage setting moon flare of March 14, 2008.

Happy Solstice Everybody!

Ahhhh another Solstice, where day equals night, here it means 5 hours and 28 minutes of daylight and a loss of only 3 seconds! Tomorrow we will actually gain a couple seconds. I can’t even begin to tell you what a morale booster that is to us northerners up here. When I look back and can put together such images and the emotions of the experiences rush in, it makes it worth it all.

The very best rendition of this song in my opinion: Somewhere Over The Rainbow

The dreams that you dare to dream really can come true

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to OZ

  1. puzzle says:

    it looks magic indeed 🙂 The song is beautiful, and the Oz-story in as many variations as there have been added since the original will always speak to our imagination.

  2. Tatyana says:

    happy solstice from my pole of cold to yours! (-33C here today)thank you for the special mood and the song (always loved it)keep dreaming,T.

  3. kïrstin says:

    i always liked the flying monkeys 😉 and the talent of the actors. the original book series is a big part of my childhood. my mother and i read every single book together, a chapter a night at bedtime, till we finished them all. even the ones written by the author\’s son.cool picture. im still trying to learn how to do composites.k☼

  4. Flo says:

    Happy Solstice to you too.

  5. Rambling says:

    Love the Wizard of Oz and your montage.

  6. Fizz says:

    I alwasy watched the Wizard of Oz at Easter as a little girl. I have wonderful memories of trying to watch it and my Great Uncle trying to shut off the power to the house. It was good fun… fond memories… thank you!

  7. john says:

    to live the dreams is a dream of now….cool pic

  8. Pat says:

    Memories associated with a song can make the song so much more than it ever was – I have a few such songs…Great montage. Hope the show goes well.

  9. Jeffrey says:

    its always amazimg to find a fellow Oreo cookie dipper!beautiful pic wonderful song. Wish you and your family have a great holiday!

  10. Rhonda says:

    WOW WOW WOW! Over the rainbow awaits beauty unknown to mankind!

Leave a Reply

