Merlin’s Time

In keeping with the theme of my last blog and You Tube video, I offer this.
It is a Red Flash phenomena which involves the atmosphere in the cold north bending and separating wavelengths of light.
In this case it is a Red Flash, there are also Green and Blue Flashes.
In order to see them there must also be a mirage.
The mirage here not only projects and magnifies the flash, it distorts the setting sun in what is called a Superior Mirage.
Simply put a Superior Mirage distorts and projects objects close to the horizon in an upward fashion.
As a hunter of mirages I am pleased with this season of such plentiful photo ops.
This one was captured with a 600mm lens.

KSP_1659 a 875 Merlin's Time

To me this is magic of the best kind, the magic of the natural world about us, a gift from God. Our imagination is also magic, and also a gift from God. From when I was just a boy I read about Camelot and Arthur, Guenevere and Merlin and the whole lot. A legend and a fantasy with all the elements of grandeur and idealism and yes deceit and tragedy that is our world. It is good to reflect on things, to ponder and to meditate on life I think. And for me it is good to seek out these natural wonders and share some of them with you.

May you find your own magic out there… 

The Music>>> Merlin’s Time

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Merlin’s Time

  1. Vieille Ourse says:

    Alaska is such a wonderful place and you are blessed to live there, Steve … and share these wonders with your Friends ! Thanks.Hugs – no sun seen at my place, for days on end now … :o(( …Katia

  2. Life's Like A Beach says:

    "and yes deceit and tragedy that is our world. It is good to reflect on things, to ponder and to meditate on life I think. And for me it is good to seek out these natural wonders and share some of them with you.~Kuskalana Steve"…….thank you Kuskalana Steve for sharing these awesome wonders that I so enjoy when I visit…footprints

  3. Donna says:

    I like this blog!It taught me a little more about photography but I also liked how you talked about your personal experiences and the magic of natural wonders. For me nature is magic and photography captures the magic, so we can share it with others.ThankyouDonna

  4. Polly says:

    Thank you for sharing the natural wonders that you find. The mirage is a wonderful spotlight on the world. The way the light spreads out over the water reminds me of when my headlights are on full beam. God is watching over all of us, nothing is hidden and He is never deceived. Of Merlin and Camelot, there are so many tales that I\’ve never been sure quite how the legend fits together, still, I love looking for the magic and the mystery 🙂

  5. Rambling says:

    this just blows my doors off. Every time.

  6. Duckie says:

    Oh, what a powerful photo. I liked the science lesson too.

  7. Babblelot says:

    To witness this must have been so awesome.

  8. Cat says:

    as you can see I am backtracking tonight – all these go on our starship playlist!

Leave a Reply

