Middle Earth’s Breath

A 3 frame panorama of Mount Redoubt, our local Stratovolcano, venting again, and streaming northward. I could have taken many more photos to the right of this. Last weekend when I drove down from a moonset shoot up the hill I saw a layer of strange green haze in the sunrise in this direction, I thought how strange, must be air pollution from the city, but I had never seen that green hue. Now I think it was venting, the hue is consistent with fumarole gases such as hydrogen sulfide.

Pan 28-30 ac 875 Middle Earth's Breath

My choice of music tonight is from one of my all time favorite singers of ballads, Mr. Jimmy Buffet

Good to have some light hearted music now and again eh? Jimmy does it best.

I don’t know where I’m a gonna go!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Middle Earth’s Breath

  1. Dianne says:

    Stunning Photography, Steve.Hope all is well in the land of snow and undescribable Beauty.Take care and have a wonderful weekend.Hugs from Ontario , CanadaDianne 🙂

  2. Rambling says:

    Dianne said it all…I would only rearrange her words.

  3. Grandpa Dewey says:

    Yes a great photo. Mr Jimmy Buffet is a great singer.

  4. Terry says:

    Love the photo. The beauty of Alaska is breathtaking through the vision of your lens. Buffet is on of my favorites and I have him in my media player to listen to while online.

  5. Babblelot says:

    My first thought would be air pollution also. Thank you for sharing these amazing sites with us.

  6. kevin says:

    Nice, simple, graphic image, Steve. A green haze resulting from Hydrogen Sulphide….sounds quite plausible. Volcanoes I\’ve seen have frequently had green-yellow sediments near the rim due to HS. I guess one way to find out would be to get downwind and inhale! Better you than me!!! ; ) KD.

Leave a Reply

