Round The Bend

With Equinox coming round the next couple days, where night equals day, we here at lattitude 60 are feeling the turn.
Daylight hours are now more than 12 between sunrise and sunset (although some of ours here are truncated by mountains).
So as we say , we’ve made it through another one.
The added light brings added photo ops, warm light again alongside the cool
 
Alaska Coast
KSP_2969 Alaska Coast

 

There is still Iditarod Sled Dog Racing going on, with 20 more teams approaching Nome.

More on that later perhaps, but here is my favorite grab shot from the week of Equinox

Round The Bend, Alaska Railroad Coal Train.

KSP_2998 a Round the Bend

 

By now you might know I am a big CCR fan, here is tonight’s tune>> Around The Bend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Round The Bend

  1. Flo says:

    Oh, that is awesome with the train. Both are good, but that bit of color and action just sets off the second photo so nicely!

  2. Sue says:

    Both pic\’s are beautiful, but I love the 2nd one, trains have played a big part of my childhood as my Dad work for the railways, we when every where by train, Have a good weekend Take careSue

  3. J says:

    Allright! Love the train shot.

  4. john says:

    Mac 70\’s started a new generation of RR engines, still look good rumbling down the rails.Nature\’s bounty to provide light and warmth for usFrom the tall towering mountains comes a beautyShelter and protection for mankindLots of messages in the pictures

  5. Jacque says:

    Very stunning photos! The colors, the mountains, the ice floes and the train. We have that new motorcycle and I think a trip to Alaska would be incredible.I enjoyed John\’s comment, too.Take care, Steve!

  6. PEP says:

    I like the look of the water (the melting of the ice).

  7. Babblelot says:

    Listening to your CCR now. Love it! Beautiful shots. The mountains and train takes your eyes on a journey.

  8. Rhapsody says:

    ooooh….love it, especially the first one….great shots..hope you are good, have a blessed weekend

  9. Ellen says:

    Hey, Steve!Long time no see! I miss you!! I\’ve been awfully busy the last few weeks, correcting maths tests, writing evaluations of all my 91 students in four different subjects, arranging meetings with 24 of them and their parents… No time for photographing, hiking, writing blogs, most certainly not reading or commenting other people\’s blogs. But now I\’m finished! And on Tuesday I leave for quite a long vacation. Brazil next, Steve! Rio de Janeiro and São Paulo are waiting for me! That\’s gonna be soooo good! Because I thought spring had arrived here, too, but today it\’s snowing – heavily. Summer, here I come! Wish you a happy Easter when that time comes!Ellen

  10. Barb says:

    I love the warm glow on the rocks in that first photo. It\’s a wonderful contrast to the icy mountain shadowed in the distance.

Leave a Reply

