Coming Out

One of the several Alaska Violets, this is a FOS (First of Season) for me.
I was not after flowers, but Dall Sheep, up on the steeps.
After being sufficiently scared (loose steep slopes above steep rock, where I could not descend my ascent route),
slashed (by the dry brittle brush) and bloodied (my forearms look like I was in a fight with a cat),
I was descending a moderately steep slope and came across this little beauty.
I eased down and laid on that slope for a bit and took a few shots of this tiny but bigger than life prize for my toil.
I feel like I earned this one, as perhaps it should be.
And this was my rest day!

KSP_4259 ac Coming Out

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Coming Out

  1. Babblelot says:

    Oh Steve you sure had a time today. This photo is very pretty. Love the detail. Be well.

  2. john says:

    That is one cool flower…. greart pic

  3. Rambling says:

    I LOVE this. I am well known for my love pf wild violets. MUAH to the violet!!!!

  4. Pat says:

    Lovely shot. I hope you had a cell-phone with you and you could have made a call if you had got into serious trouble. Take care.

  5. Kuskulana says:

    Pat- yes I carry a cell phone (and other countermeasures) in case I need it, would almost rather die than have to be rescued though.I am a come back alive focused adventurer.

  6. Pat says:

    Glad to hear that Steve – you are a brave and wise adventurer.

  7. puzzle says:

    a lucky adventurer, who can feel content by a sweet little violet after all. 🙂

  8. Sue says:

    Beautiful flower so small, but yet so full of colourLovely shotTake careSue

  9. Flo says:

    Nice shot. Sorry you got hurt. Take care of yourself. We love your photos, but… be careful.

  10. J says:

    "would almost rather die than have to be rescued"!!!! Still laughing here! Great shot Steve.

  11. catamaran says:

    Beautiful flower, a discovery with danger.

  12. Polly says:

    Glad to hear you\’re a "comeback alive focused adventurer" – the violet is beautiful. Take care, it sounds like you\’re living dangerously 😐

  13. Here I Am says:

    And didn\’t it feel good just to lay down and commune with that little flower… She\’s a little beauty…. Hugs from the Valley

  14. Horst says:

    Very nice, amazing little plants.

  15. T says:

    Violet is even more beautiful because of green around. This shot was worthy of your effort.Hug,T

  16. Fizz says:

    Looks lovely!! Violets are my favorite succulent!

  17. Jacque says:

    Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

