A Few Scenes from Early May

Yesterday when I was out and about,
I saw this rogue wave train charging accross the inlet.
 
IMGP8608 a
 
Cook Inlet has some of the biggest tides anywhere (at 30+ feet, high to low),
and is known for the bore tide, which can be a single wall of water up to about 6 feet high.
These waves are 2-3 feet high and a gale force wind helped to propogate them.
Just a moment before I took this the sea bed was dry in the foreground!
 

IMGP8609 a

The early snow melt is on, and water is gushing from the bluffs along the highway.

IMGP8616 a

A Mew Gull calls for a mate at the marsh.

They really are cool birds in their natural wild habitat.

Note the red highlight around the eye, I think this is very pretty.

IMGP8591 a

A northbound cargo train from the port of Seward cruises along the Seward Highway and the Inlet.

IMGP8610 ac

Some local trails still have a lot of ice and snow,

and there are moose nuggets and little tracks all over the place!

Little moose tracks mean big momma moose and bears are around!

IMGP8621 a

Green is a welcome color!

IMGP8618 a

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to A Few Scenes from Early May

  1. Vieille Ourse says:

    I love those trains !!! whatever their color (red or yellow !!).
    Be on your guard if Momma Moose is around, and even more if it is Momma Bear !!!
    Hugs from Belgium (luckily no "dangerous" bears around there, just grumbling ones … !!!).

  2. Arctic says:

    nice shots,  i like the last one most.

  3. Beth says:

    Great photos!

  4. Nessa says:

    Great photo\’s Steve – I love the train shot.  But that Green is so vivid – really stunning – what is that green plant – is it some sort of Lichen?
    Hugs from the UK xx

  5. Barb says:

    That bottom photo of the green sets my heart to racing…it is sooooooooooo very welcome after staring at white for months and months. 
    I\’ve love to watch one of those rogue waves come in, from a safe place of course.  🙂  That\’s a marvellous capture of the waves in action.
    And there is nothing, nothing I say, more wonderful then the sound of the melt waters finding their way down the mountain slopes.  Those are special moments that are not always there to enjoy.
    I can hear the screech of that Gull….well, I guess that\’s the one outside my window that plays in our neighbourhood.
    Looks like your mooses need some fiber.  Ha ha ha
    Well…I didn\’t make it to Elk Island…stayed inside and rested instead.  I\’m on my way out to a friends and have to pass within a few blocks of my camera store…thinking of stopping in to see if they have the new Sigma 150-500mm in yet.  It\’s on their website at $1,300…but I still really want a Canon L lens….but the price of those are outrageous.  Arg…can\’t decide and the little birdies are escaping my 300mm as I type!
    And I wondered about those Canada Goose.  Yours seem to have a shorter bill (? do geese have bills or beaks?) then the ones here in the city. 
    Okay gotta get myself off this keyboard….
    Hug hugs from an impulse shopper….wanna take bets on what I come back with?  LMAO
     
     

  6. Sherry says:

    Superb once again!
    Hugs
    Sherry

  7. Sarah says:

    That last one I especially–love pictures that show the extraordinary aspects of ordinary things.  This one is a crisp collage of an ordinary view on the trail.  The collage of natural colors and textures is refreshing to the brain–the best kind of eye-candy.

  8. Sheila says:

    Stevehad to laugh at Baby Moose\’s "little tracks"….they look exactly like the size and shape of PECANS! ewwwwwwwwwwwwI sure coulda done without that, I will never look a pecan in the eye the same way again (tee hee).
    I love the gold and blue (Alaska\’s colors!) of the cargo train\’s engine, what a pretty engine.  I have always loved the sound of a distant train\’s horn, are all train horns created equal, do Alaska trains sound like North Carolina trains? You do realize ours have a definate drawl too oot too oot! HA!enjoy your spring thaw and the rest of your weekend,hugs hugs from a gorgeous east coast

  9. Cat says:

    Thank you for inviting us into yr world – love the 2nd shot and the train – excellent angle on that one – and the green is so intense on the last –

  10. Rambling says:

    what an absolute pleasure.

  11. Sue says:

    Wonderful pictures Love the once of the seaTake careSue

  12. L e e says:

    As always, Steve, you have some awesome pictures.  Thanks for sharing.  I have a couple of friends that will be passing through your town in a couple of weeks. 
    Cheers
    Lee

  13. Cindy says:

    Your pictures today really bring back some great memories.  Moose nuggets remind me of the Moose Dropping Festival in Talkeetna.  Those folks know how to have fun!  Alaska is the only place I\’ve ever experienced tides.  I couldn\’t believe how quickly things change.  Thanks for the memories!
     
    Think green!

  14. Babblelot says:

    I just knew I would learn something new arriving to your blog.Wonderful pictures of your spring arriving. Thank you for sharingyour world and teaching us who have never been there.

  15. T says:

    Thanks for representing Alaska.
    Each time I can learn something new and enjoy looking photos.

  16. PEP says:

    You already know green is my favorite color soI always welcome a little green.
    That is a pretty cool picture.
    Is that moss on the mushrooms or are they green mushrooms? 

  17. Charles says:

    have to wonder if those waves were from the earthquake overseas?

  18. Butch says:

    Love the train pic.Butch

Leave a comment